Grieving with Hope

My wife died this week.  It was awful to say goodbye to her here on earth and to watch her take her final breath.  Nothing can prepare you for that and we are still reeling from our loss.  

I have entered the school of grief.  I look forward to learning from the great Christian resources on this subject. I am not a grief expert but would be better described as a preschooler nervous about their first day.  

But I’ve already learned something that I wanted to share with you today.  

As I was laying in bed Friday night and wrestling with all that has taken place and the reality of Janel’s absence, I was praying and seeking the Lord.  In those moments I sensed the Holy Spirit giving me a very simple thought about the days ahead.  I share it because I need to publicly state my intentions in these moments and to encourage us all as we face adversity in our life.  

Paul said in I Thessalonians 4 that as believers we should not  “grieve as others do who have no hope.”  As I lay there broken over the earthly absence of my bride I felt the Lord calling me to commit to “grieving with hope” during this unbelievably sad season in our life.  

What does that mean?  I think that it means at least these 5 simple things.  

BY GOD’S GRACE

  1. I will weep.  Paul said we do actually grieve.  We just don’t grieve like one who has never trusted in Christ.  But we weep as did Paul, as did Jesus mother, as did Mary at the tomb of our Lord, as Jesus Himself wept at Lazarus death.  Janel’s absence is so poignant in my life.  The sense of her loss is so painful, I won’t hold back the tears, tamp the unexpected emotion nor deny the reality of my loss.  I am weeping and will continue to grieve.  

BY GOD’S GRACE

  1. I will worship.  Everyday I must realign my perspective by focusing on the character, the nature, the work and the promises of God.  Through scripture and prayer I must worship in the midst of my weeping.  God is still good.  His promises are still true.  His Holy Spirit still guides and His mercies are still new every morning.  So in the midst of loss I will continue  to look up and worship the Lord.  

BY GOD’S GRACE

  1. I will be grateful.  While the future looks sad to me right now and I feel her absence everywhere I turn, I must refuse to get angry or bitter about what I have lost and instead spend considerable time everyday expressing thanksgiving to God for all that He gave me in her life and companionship.  I often told Janel in the past couple of years that our 34 years together were equal to most people’s 60 years of marriage.  I will give thanks to God everyday for the blessings in my life that He has given.  

BY GOD’S GRACE

  1. I will be faithful.  I will remain true to all that God has called me to as a Christian, as a father, a grandfather and as a pastor.  I will not allow my pain to be an excuse for the indulgence of attitudes, behaviors or habits of the flesh that could dampen the Spirit’s work in me.  While devastated, I cannot give in to self-pity or allow Satan to use this pain to harm the work of God in and through me.  

BY GOD’S GRACE

  1. I will anticipate.  Believers live with hope.  I will look forward to how God is going to use this pain in my life to do something good.  I will anticipate the sanctification of this suffering for the glory of God.  I will be excited about being back in the pulpit and the day to day ministry in the not too distant future.  I will expect God to use this to deepen my intimacy with Him and help me better fulfill the calling He has on my life.  And I will look forward to that glorious day that awaits us all when “we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we will always be with the Lord.”  I will see Janel again and by God’s grace, I will live the rest of my life on earth with Heaven always in view.  

BE ENCOURAGED, WE’RE CHRISTIANS!

Troy

About Pastor Troy Keaton

Founding pastor at EastLake Community Church at Smith Mountain Lake Virginia. 64fellowship.org View all posts by Pastor Troy Keaton

36 responses to “Grieving with Hope

  • Jenny

    Troy, such wonderful powerful words! I’m so sorry for your loss! I too am a griever. I lost my son Andy 13 years ago and struggle still. Your words were very powerful for me, it’s as if you heard my pain and wrote about it. Your words were very encouraging! Please continue to share, I feel it’s helpful for you as you go through this process/stages and very helpful for others! My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family:) Jenny Odenthal, Susan Smiths sister.

  • gloria daniels

    Dearest Pastor Troy

    We weep with you, love you and pray for you always.

    You and Janel have been blessed and loving examples

    of how believers in Christ Jesus ought to be.

    Blessings, Gloria Daniels

  • Jeanine (Toronto Canada)

    This reading has truly blessed my heart and I know it will also bless others on their journey of grief! Thank God that we do have hope! Thank God that Christ defeated death and the grave and that there will be a resurrection and a grand reunion! My prayers are with your family and thank you for sharing your lives and for the impact Janel’s life will continue to have on people all around the world!

  • Valerie

    Wow, absolutely, a beautiful perspective 🙏

  • Susan Temple

    Amen to all you have written, Pastor Troy!

    Oh, how I thank God for His promises. I am so thankful that we will be reunited with our loved one.
    For me, I am thankful for the 41+years that I had with Scott. I am thankful for the deep love that we had for one another. But the loss is great and the depth of grieving is sometimes so deep. Yet, mixed with that is the joy for what we had together as I relive the memories that I carry within my heart.
    The strong faith that you have will carry you through these days that follow. There may be moments when you feel like you can’t or maybe even don’t want to go on. That is the depth of grief because of the depth of love that you had for Janel. But He will break through and carry you through these times.
    I am so very sorry for your loss. Hold tight to Jesus. I know that you will.

    Just to let you know who I am, I am Don & Grace Temple’s daughter in law. You helped us by doing a short service by Zoom after my husband went to be with the Lord.

  • Karim Catter

    Thank you for sharing this message Pastor. Yes, our hope in God is that we will see each other again in heaven. God bless you and your family.

  • Julie McNeil

    Dear Troy, thank you for sharing these encouraging words in the midst of your loss and heartache. Having gone through this pain of losing a precious husband of 46 years, I do know what you’re going through. Yes it’s ok to grieve and cry, but thank the Lord for His ever present abiding hope and comfort. It takes time to grieve your loss of precious Janel, she was definitely a light in my life and I’m grieving as a sister in Christ. Praise the Lord, someday we WILL be caught up together with her to meet the Lord in the air, and so shall we ever be with Jesus and all who have given their heart and life to Him. You, your family, church family and friends are in our daily thoughts and prayers. Thank you for your service in God’s kingdom. 
    Love in Jesus Christ, Julie

  • Esther Vesta

    Thank you for sharing your heart. It means the world to the many of us who have followed your precious wife’s journey. Blessings to you in the days ahead. Our God is faithful!

  • Phyllis Lloyd

    So inspiring. Janel was a model of God’s power as she finished her race, but your faith and wisdom has been no less powerful. All of us that are happily married dread the day our spouse may go before us. I have found your understanding very encouraging. Thank you for being willing to allow God to use your pain for encouragement. ~Phyllis~

  • liannecash

    Thanks for sharing. I lost my husband September will be two years. I needed this morning before I go to church . You could see the god’s glory on your wife. Praying for you and your family daily

  • Leticia

    This is powerful!!! I have saved this to share with others in my life. I’m praying for you and your family during this painful journey.

  • Leticia

    This is so powerful! I have saved this to share with others who are in so much pain of grief. I am praying for you and your family.

  • Cheryle McMichael

    Your words are a testimony to us all. Know I am praying for you.

  • Abby

    Thanks, Troy! What an amazing perspective on the fact that we do have hope even in our grieving. The McCrarys love you and your family and are holding you up to the Father in prayer during these difficult days. Keep your eyes on Him! He is faithful.

  • Lisa

    I firmly believe that our Father in Heaven has a plan Please know that even though Janel was taken you will be together again and she is continuing the Saviors work in heaven bringing more souls to Christ. May your family be surrounded with the peace and promises of our Savior at this time

  • Samantha Hollins

    Your words have touched my heart this morning. Your strength and encouragement together, are awe inspiring. I’ve experienced a loss very similar to this with the passing of my mother in 2019. My faith at that time wasn’t as strong as it is now, and I now, await to be reunited with her one day. I’ve followed Janel’s journey and was impacted by it. Stay strong and faithful..
    I look forward to more of your posts.

  • Brenda Davis

    it’s just breaking my heart to feel your pain right now and as I told you and Janel that morning we met you two walking going to breakfast in Gatlinburg, I know too what it feels to lose someone you love as I lost my firstborn son that drove all way from here to Gatlinburg to take his life there, was so devastating and painful to live with that! But only God will get you thru this awful ordeal I promise you, the thing I worried about the most was his soul going to hell but that you’ll never have to question cause you know where she resides now right there with the Lord, don’t ever be ashamed for grieving it’s a part of life unfortunately if we outlive those we love and the pain never goes away but God heals us in unexplainable ways so that we go on living for him and those around us that need us and love us desperately to go on, I’m here if you ever need to talk about losing someone you love, there’s alot of us here for you always and will do our best to lift you up!! We so love you our Pastor and friend, Brenda Davis

  • Tonya Richards

    Troy,

    I want you to know I am covering you and your family in prayer during this difficult time in the loss of Janel. Your words are so powerful! May God continue to bless you,your precious family and grandchildren. God is so good. Rejoicing with you knowing one sweet day we will all be United with our Lord Jesus Christ and all of our loved ones that have gone before us! Keep on Keeping on the best in yet to come!

  • Carol Farney

    thank you Troy

    I’m struggling with grief too.

  • Jan Offutt

    Troy, my Heart goes out to you & the Family for your Great Loss. This is Powerful. I loss my husband 4 years ago after 34 years of marriage. I walk around in just a fog and just don’t know what to do but with God is my strength & his amazing grace.

  • Brooke Mooney

    I wept while reading this-I didn’t know Janel-just following through Instagram. I woke up to the post of her passing-I wept then-for a woman I didn’t know physically. I am so sorry for your loss of what seems to have been an incredible woman! Your words above were beautiful and inspiring. I am glad I “stumbled” upon her and was able to see a small part of her and her journey. Thanks to her and your family for being so valuable in a time lots choose to be so private. She was beautiful ❤️

  • Billie Boogaard

    Troy, we saw you at Belmont for C Family & Keaton reunion…& followed Janel’s walk.

    Please read a powerful book, “A Grace Disguised “ by my friend, Dr. Jerry Sittser…it is the best book for a devoted man of God mourning a tragic loss of family. Peace & courage to you, from Billie in Colorado Springs

  • Aura Ferrera

    Thank you for sharing. As I was reading this I would like to share this ….

    Abraham was going to make a sacrifice because that’s what God had told him to do. We can say, Abraham had an idea of what was going to happen. Isaac had NO idea what was going on. But GOD did. He knew the who, the what, and the when. To you my brother God will provide. What? Whatever it is that you’re facing; And much more.

    what a blessing was Janel and I hope to meet her one day.

  • Garry Andres

    I feel your pain. My bride passed 11 months ago. God has been good. I know where she is and who she is with. Heaven changes everything. God bless your journey.

  • Darlene Parks Colón

    Troy,

    May you and your family feel God’s presence as you grieve. 

    Griefshare.org was a great resource to me when my husband died in a car accident in 2008. Also, Griefshare has a daily devotional that can come to your email for 365 days and is very helpful. 

    God bless you. 
    Darlene Parks Colón

    https://www.griefshare.org/dailyemails

  • Dan Downing

    Troy, thank you for this beautiful approach to grieving. I believe it is as inspired as any sermon you’ve EVER preached. I’m praying for you and your family. I can’t even IMAGINE how difficult this must be. I sure do love you, man.. and I’m trusting Jesus to hold you in His loving arms, close to HIM, during these extremely difficult days….

  • Haley Cartwright

    Absolutely beautiful! Thank you for sharing this. It is such a beautiful commitment, as well as an encouragement for those of us who grieve. May you feel the sweet presence of our God comforting your broken heart!

  • Belinda Shindlebower

    As you begin your process of the grieving process, you’re encouraging so many! Thanks for that! Your sweet wife was also so encouraging to many! Praying for you all. Please continue to be encouraged as you encourage others!

  • Debbie

    I don’t know you or your wife but I must say I wish I had. Your wife was so beautiful, strong and courageous.I just read your post and it was so uplifting and such a sweet tribute to your wife and marriage. I pray God gives you peace in these upcoming days.God bless you and your family.🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻

  • Barbara Murtagh Nash

    Thank you so much for your beautiful words of Christian direction and focus on facing our grief. I lost my husband to cancer in September after 30 years together and work everyday with my grief by staying close to the Lord. I am so thankful for my faith as I can not imagine any other way of living in joy or in sadness.

    Thank you for being so transparent in this tender time and sharing with us. It helps us all to heal.

  • Don MacLafferty

    Troy,

    Thank you so much for sharing your heart and your journey: painful, real, drenched with hope in Jesus’ soon return and in His Presence as promises NOW. 

    Lifting you up in prayer.

    your brother in Jesus,

    Don MacLafferty

  • Libby

    I didn’t know Janel personally but her words at the beginning of this blog touched me-she said either way she was expecting a miracle and a miracle did happen for her-praise God! Heaven isn’t real until we have someone we thought we couldn’t live without in residence and when I lost my dearest one 31 years ago I could not imagine anything good coming out of it. But like a sheep with a broken leg staying near to its shepherd, I was never closer to God. My husband accepted Christ and has done wonderful work for the Lord. My focus became to tell others about the goodness of God. As impossible as it seems, I expect God to use all of your pain, loneliness, anger and grief to do something BIG to further His Glory and Kingdom. Thank you for sharing your story💕

  • Melanie Riddle

    Troy, I do not know you personally; however, I have followed “Janel’s Journey” since Inspiration Encounter. The whole event was impactful, yet Janel’s resolution to live her life to its end in God’s service really touched my heart. 

    I have been a widow for twenty-five years, my husband was a pastor too. For the past thirteen years, I have led a Christian ministry for widows, and I lead the grief ministry at my church also. This blog will be shared with grieving men and women I encounter, for you have outlined exactly how believers need to grieve. 

    You and your family are in my prayers. Grief is so hard and all of us grieve differently; nevertheless, our faithful God helps us grieve with His promised hope guiding our hearts into His Presence day by day. There, in intimate fellowship, we slowly heal and regain strength for the days ahead.

  • Heather

    Troy,

    We don’t know each other, however, I do know a little bit of your side from your sister Kim and her family, the Collingsworth family.

    I found Janel’s Journey Facebook page a short time back, and have followed it ever since. I have a few things to say that I want you to know.

    First, your wife was a precious, beautiful, Godly woman. She was truly a true child of God. No matter what battles came her way, she fought them bravely and courageously. She never gave up. She fought with the blessed assurance that the battle was already won. In other words, she was a beautiful, strong, wonderful woman.

    Second, I want you to know that I was heartbroken to hear she passed. I rejoiced knowing that she is in Heaven, but I couldn’t help but imagine the deep grief that you all are now facing and in the midst of. Her passing has left such a huge whole in your life that it may at points seem almost unbearable. But oh how thankful we are for the God of all confort Who is our good Shepherd when we need Him the most.

    Loss and grief are no small things, and I can relate to you with that. But the biggest key we have to remember and believe is that God will get us through, no matter how hard the pain is.

    I also wanted you and your family to know I am praying for you all during this time. Praying for peace, comfort, strength, and grace.

    God is so good.

    ”When Christ shall come with shout of acclamation, and take me home, what joy shall fill my heart. Then I shall bow in humble adoration and there proclaim, My God, How Great Thou Art!”

  • houseofhealingaz

    I too am facing loss of my husband..last Feb 3rd, 2023. I can empathize with you and have mourning with Hope. A woman by divine appointment led me to a book by Gerald Sittser A Grace Disguised. He nailed it with his own experiences of loss of his family in his book. I highly recommend it as it truly helped me.

    Like John Schneider, who like us, wrote of his experiences on his fb page..its loaded with nuggets and worth his readings.

    My sister led me to following your journey of Janel. I am so sorry too. Your sermon on death is one, if not the best I have ever heard. I thank God for my family and their amazing love and support. You are a beautiful humble man and in my prayers for you and your family. One day at a time. We will meet our loved ones again. Stay strong and in the faith. God bless you sir.

    with hope and sympathy

    Kelley beck

Leave a comment