Uh Oh my thoughts on Duck Dynasty and A&E

The internet is abuzz about the suspension of the Duck Dynasty Dad, Phil Robertson for his comments regarding his views of homosexuality. It is almost impossible to not have some reaction to this event.  So here is my personal, internal, spiritual and emotional response to Phil Robertson’s suspension and all the discussion surrounding it. 

I am SadI am not sad because Phil lost his job on TV nor am I sad that A&E just lost their #1 rated show. Phil is doing ok.  He is well-grounded in his faith, family and his fortune.  A&E has savvy people who will recover this show or create another that will continue to make money.  My sadness is this.   As an American,  I am sad about the decline of this country.  As a pastor it breaks my heart that morality is being lost in America.

I am not SurprisedA biblical view of this world is more and more outside of the mainstream  of American culture.  Having seen statements from Phil about his religion over the course of the past year or so the only surprise to me is that something of this nature didn’t happen sooner.  Does this really surprise anyone?

I want to Stay Focused.   I don’t want to get caught up in an argument with the world.  I want to proclaim the Gospel.  Jesus did not command me to “go into all the world and picket for the gospel”.  He told me to “preach it”.  Money may prevail and one of the parties may fold.  We are all tempted to make this moral rift our mission However, as a Christian I do not win if I only convince A&E to put him back on the air.  We only win when people are transformed by the power of the Gospel.   The people I choose to love today, the sermon I am preparing to preach on Sunday and the Gospel we live out everyday are far better ways to impact the world than screaming at a Hollywood Television Station.  I want to stay focused on the only solution this world really has, Jesus Christ.

I Tim. 1:5 Now the purpose of the commandment is love from a pure heart, from a good conscience, and from sincere faith, from which some, having strayed, have turned aside to idle talk,

About Pastor Troy Keaton

Founding pastor at EastLake Community Church at Smith Mountain Lake Virginia. View all posts by Pastor Troy Keaton

2 responses to “Uh Oh my thoughts on Duck Dynasty and A&E

Leave a Reply

