I’m voting on Tuesday, here’s why.

I will be voting on Tuesday.  I know, you knew that already, but perhaps I’ve never told you why.  So here are my 5 reasons.  

1.  I don’t let others pick what I eat for breakfast, why would I let them pick my president?  Although small and insignificant and in some states irrelevant, every vote counts.  I want to be a part of that decision.   

2.  I believe elections have consequences. The ruling party has significant might I say, massive power to effect our country.  From the agenda they set to supreme court appointments to executive orders or the hundreds/thousands of other appointees and decisions that effect us all, elections have major consequences, therefore I will vote.  “Elections have consequences, and at the end of the day, I won.” Obama, Jan 23, 2009

3.  I believe in America.  As a citizen I love this country and although we are not perfect (far from it) I believe we have the best system in the world.  I vote because of the vision and sacrifice of our founding fathers, the service of my grandfather who is buried in France, my brother who was injured in Iraq, my nephew currently in Afghanistan and every person who has fought for our freedom.

4. I believe in being salt and light.  Jesus tells us that we are the salt of the earth and the light… you get it.  If we as followers of Christ do not engage ourselves with our faith in these areas we remove the salt and light from this arena of society. “Hide it under a bushel, NO!” 

5.  I believe in God’s sovereign control over the world.  Yes, God rules in the affairs of men and the way God works in the world is he uses men and women to exercise and accomplish His will.  I believe God raises up and brings down kings and rulers through human means.  My responsibility is to pray and vote.  I trust God with the outcome.

Stay tuned for my next post “I’m voting for ______, here’s why”. 

About Pastor Troy Keaton

Founding pastor at EastLake Community Church at Smith Mountain Lake Virginia. View all posts by Pastor Troy Keaton

Leave a Reply

