The Gospel and Politics

Two characteristics about me.  First, I am a pastor and am committed to fulfilling the Great Commission, Secondly, I have been for years a connoisseur of politics.  I became politically interested when at 10 years of age I passed out 9 dollar bills for my recently deceased friend, “Floyd Coates for Congress”.  There was something in that experience that stuck with me and caused me to love the world of political things. 

I see the value of political involvement for the Christian.  We could benefit in this country if more truly devoted followers of Christ were active and elected to political office. 

The question that bothers me is, Why are we as Christians more excited, creative, relevant and ambitious when it comes to spreading a political message than we are when it comes to spreading the Gospel and fulfilling the great commission. 

There are no mediums or methods that are taboo for the politically motivated; robo-calls, cutting edge TV ads, outdoor stump speeches, mailers and a host of other resources are employed with relevance and excellence.  I think this is good. 

We do this essentially for three reasons, 1.  We use mediums and methods that the audience (voters) we are trying to reach understands.  2.  We use mediums and methods that our opponent will use and we do it to remain competitive.  3.  Most importantly, we feel the message or cause we are fighting for is so important that it demands we go “all out” to champion it.  Again I wholeheartedly endorse this plan.

What is disheartening is that when it comes to the great commission many times the same Christians and churches fight with their hands behind their backs, using outdated methodology that is both ineffective and irrelevant.   What we willingly do to campaign politically we will not do for the sake of the Gospel. 

I propose for the same three reasons mentioned above we engage our best and most competent effort in the work of the Kingdom of God.  We must use mediums and methods our audience (the lost) understands.  We must realize the enemy is on an all out blitz “seeking whom he may devour”, and we have to again become convinced that the Gospel is the most powerful and wonderful message and is infinitely more important and true than any campaign promise.   For sure, everyone’s future depends on it.  

1 Corinthians 9:22
To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.

About Pastor Troy Keaton

Founding pastor at EastLake Community Church at Smith Mountain Lake Virginia. View all posts by Pastor Troy Keaton

Leave a Reply

